Paco’s Poem on Tuesday – Even Better than Ice Cream.

Paco

Title: Even Better than Ice Cream.

Saint Patrick’s Athletic 2 Sligo Rovers 0.

We won the league.

At long last.

Yes.

This feels so good.

Even better than eating ice cream in

the Phoenix Park in summer.

I thought my head exploded

when we scored the second goal.

But it didn’t.

My throat is hoarse.

My bones are dog-tired.

I’ll be swimming in the trophy

this Friday at the Derry match.

Then I must rest.

______________________________________________

(Written by Paco aged seven and three quarters on 13th October 2013  from the centre circle of Richmond Park after the match  while eating ice cream. I couldn’t resist! What do you think I am – a monk?).

One thought on “Paco’s Poem on Tuesday – Even Better than Ice Cream.

  1. Paco, my dear, you must have been so so soooo excited!

    You were so cute being hoist aloft like by Anto Flood … what kind of ice-cream did you get to scoff?

    I will make sure that it is fizzy orange:) in that Trophy for you on Friday evening in Richmond Park, Inchicore.

    Until next year’s championship – when you will have added another quarter onto your age and will be even more articulate in your fandom of Saint Pats!

    Olivek

Leave a Reply

