Paco’s Poem on Tuesday – I’m Not Bat Chain Pulling Your Leg

Paco’s Poem on Tuesday.

Paco

Tittle: I’m Not Bat Chain Pulling Your Leg

Bray Wanderers 1 Saint Patrick’s Athletic 3.

I wasn’t in Bray on the night.

I was at a literary evening in Trim, County Meath –

Boyne Berries everywhere reading poetry and

prose.

.

My best friend Connie-Wonnie

from school updated me with texts throughout the

evening.  I sneaked a look every time a goal was scored.

Screamed silently.

.

I’m giving up cake until

the end of the season. I’ll make that

sacrifice for Pats, my team.

.

The Pats fans had a banner up at the match

Connie Wonnie told me – Fast and Bulbous

– and also a tin teardrop.

That’s what supporting Pats is like.

From Captain Beefheart’s  Trout Mask Replica album.

Pat fans have the best mind-licking taste in music

in the world – by a mile and three quarters.

And I swear I’m not bat chain pulling your leg on this

one ladies and gentlemen.

I swear. Even though I’m not allowed.

.

We’re still on top.

Four games to go go go go go gooooooooooo!

___________________________________________________

(Written by Paco aged seven and three quarters on 26th September 2013 in Trim, County Meath, eating smarties and listening to my uncle Eric reading a strange story in public).

3 thoughts on “Paco’s Poem on Tuesday – I’m Not Bat Chain Pulling Your Leg

Leave a Reply

